An Introduction

The household in which I grew up wasn’t particularly traditional. I remember the excitement that could be felt in our house when my mother would pop a Stouffer’s frozen lasagna in the oven. This, to my brother and to me, was cooking! A meal that wasn’t prepared in a microwave or brought home in a takeout box was a real treat.

My mother is a wonderful woman. She is a self-confident, single woman with an air about her that hints at poise and elegance. Growing up, she worked hard to make sure every Christmas was special and every birthday was memorable. Her dedication to providing her children with happy childhood memories was noble, and she was extremely successful at her goal.

That being said, she is not the most frugal person, nor is she an enthusiastic cook. She never taught me how to bake a loaf of bread or plant a garden or sew a dress or clip a coupon. And now, at nineteen, I find myself married and wishing for a simpler life than the one around me. My goals do not involve a fancy luxury car or the newest designer purse. Instead, my greatest want right now is for a vegetable garden to harvest zucchini and squash.

I realize that I am a fairly uncommon individual. At nineteen, I am married, I have a mortgage, and my husband and I have a significant amount of money saved up for retirement. I can tell that most of my friends find these facts entertaining, but I can’t help by feel out-of-place during our weekly dinners out. While they talk about clubbing, or their college exams, my mind is drifting to the gutters that need to be cleaned and the HOA fees that need to be paid.

And, you know what? I’m okay with being different. I think there is a certain charm to living below your means so that, one day, you will have more than enough to indulge yourself or help out a family member. I am happy to abandon the desire to always have the newest phone or follow the latest fashion. I like the clothes that I buy on the clearance rack and I love the effect my lifestyle has on my bank account!

This blog will document my progress in accomplishing four large goal (blog listing these goals to follow) . It will track my failures and successes and it will showcase information helpful to a person trying to enjoy a simpler life.

 

 

 

“I am beginning to learn that it is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all.”
— Laura Ingalls Wilder

4 Responses to “An Introduction”


  1. 1 soninlawofprudence September 12, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    Very nice start, my dear. I wish you much luck for the future of this blog!

  2. 2 Corrie September 13, 2009 at 12:24 am

    I’m so happy you started this blog! It will give me great ideas about my own shopping and lifestyle and will also help me in communicating with you! Miss you, love. :]

  3. 3 Sally September 13, 2009 at 2:56 am

    This is so cool- I am proud of you and will look to this site for your results. Maybe you can teach your mom a thing or tow about domestic achievements!

  4. 4 Aunt Dianne September 13, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    What a great idea! First let me say that you write beautifully and I look forward to reading your weekly updates. I commend you for being proud of your individuality–after all, that’s what gives color to the world. You go, girl!!


Leave a Reply

