Four Goals

In my last post, I mentioned having four goals that I’d like to accomplish this year. They are, as follows:

  1. Plant and maintain a vegetable garden.
  2. Set aggressive budget goals and stick to them by taking advantage of sales and coupons. I am already significantly accomplished at this goal and I will be writing about this in the upcoming weeks.
  3. Learn how to cook.
  4. Learn how to sew my own clothes.

If you think that you might be able to help me accomplish any of these goals, please e-mail me at CaitlinNMaddox@gmail.com or post a comment on this blog.

5 Responses to “Four Goals”


  1. 1 dressingmyself September 13, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    That strikes me as an extremely ambitious list for all in one year!

    I am planning to start a cooking project at the end of September and some parts of it may help you.

    Can you cook anything at present?

  2. 2 daughterofprudence September 13, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    Hello, dressingmyself.

    I don’t plan on becoming an expert in all of these areas in one year. I would, however, like to at least get my feet wet in them. I’m already pretty successful at couponing, and I’d say that I’m least experienced in gardening (I’ve literally never planted anything).

    I can cook a few simple things: pasta, grilled chicken, hamburgers, and lots of breakfast items, but nothing too complicated. I’m much more at ease baking than cooking.

    I’d love to take part in your cooking project. I’ll continue to check your blog for updates.

    Thanks!

    –Caitlin

  3. 3 Debbie (Corrie's Mom) September 13, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    Caitlin,

    I am so proud of you. I know that you will complete all you desire. I wish I could give you advice, but alas, Corrie could give you better cooking tips than I would be able. Stick at first at what you like and build on it. Experiment, experiment. It is those herbs in your garden that will turn every dish into a gourmet meal.

  4. 4 Megan September 17, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    get dixie cups (with holes cut in the bottom) or seed pod containers and start your onions and tomatoes now! And this is a perfect time for planting squashes to have in time for late October/November. Even if you get one pepper or one squash out of the deal, it’s still cheaper (and healthier) to get the seeds rather than the vegetables from the store. I started some habaneros a few weeks ago and they’re growing like crazy, and I already have a huge poblano growing with some Caribbean red peppers. Peppers are a good place to start. Hope this kinda helps. Miss you 🙂


  1. 1 Coupons and Junk Food « Daughter Of Prudence's Blog Trackback on September 29, 2009 at 8:22 pm

Leave a Reply

